MidSouth Conference expansionThe NAIA’s Mid-South Conference and the Sun Conference are merging to form the nation’s largest football conference at any level. There will be 20 teams competing for three automatic bids to the NAIA playoffs. 2017 will be the debut year of the combo.

Read on for details. Best of all, those teams called Eagles in the MSC and the Sun Conference will be forced to change their names to something less overused. (I’m kidding. If only it were true.) Back to the facts …

“The expansion of the Mid-South Conference provides strength and stability to one of the best NAIA football conferences,” said Willis Pooler, Lindsey Wilson College athletics director. “Commissioner Ward did an outstanding job creating a 3-division structure that allows our institutions to maintain their identity in our regions, while creating an opportunity for our student-athletes to have experiences that will potentially lead to new rivalries. Our football program will undoubtedly benefit from expanded recruiting possibilities as we play games and are seen by high school students in the south. Lindsey Wilson College is excited about the direction of the MSC.”

Others, including Dr. Michael Carter, president of Campbellsville University and chair of the Mid-South Conference board of directors, share in Pooler’s excitement.

 “I could not be more excited about the expansion to create the largest football conference in the country. This opportunity to promote student athletes who are learning how to be Champions of Character and the importance of values based education is important to each school in the Mid-South Conference,” shared Dr. Carter.

The new conference will include the Mid-South Conference’s 13 members: Bethel (Tenn.), Bluefield (Va.), Campbellsville (Ky.), Cincinnati Christian (Ohio), Cumberland (Tenn.), Cumberlands (Ky.), Faulkner (Ala.), Georgetown (Ky.), Kentucky Christian, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.), Pikeville (Ky.), Reinhardt (Ga.), and Union (Ky.).

They will be joined by six teams from The Sun Conference: Ave Maria (Fla.), Edward Waters (Fla.), Point (Ga.), Southeastern (Fla.), Warner (Fla.) and Webber International (Fla.). St. Andrews (N.C.) is scheduled to begin football in 2017.

“This merger strengthens our commitment to our football institutions and their student-athletes,” said Mid-South Conference Commissioner Eric Ward. Ward said the expanded football conference will make it easier for schools to schedule football games, as well as bring together institutions with similar values.

“While the driving force behind this venture is to alleviate the difficulty of scheduling, there are a number of other benefits that will be realized by expanding this football conference,” Ward said. “This merger will also increase our football footprint with like-minded schools who share our mission to provide a competitive experience to all student-athletes.”

The Sun Conference Commissioner, Mark Pope, echoed Ward’s sentiments in creating the new football conference.

“Throughout our discussions, Eric and I realized that our respective member institutions were remarkably similar in values, character and strategic vision with regard to football,” said Pope.  “We were impressed with the Mid-South’s focus on football as its core product.”


Pope continued, “I see this new merger as the beginning of a remarkable new chapter in college football. Given the tremendous interest in football in the Southeast, I expect that several other institutions will consider adding this sport, now that they know they will have a conference which guarantees a full schedule of games.”


Football coaches in the expanded MSC are equally as excited about the 2017 season.


“We are already fortunate to be part of one of the top NAIA football conferences in the nation,” said Lindsey Wilson football coach Chris Oliver, chair of the Mid-South Conference football coaches. “This merger will only strengthen and expand the reputation of MSC football.”


Founded in 1987, the Mid-South Conference split into East and West football divisions in 2005. The expanded football conference’s divisions will be called the Appalachian, Bluegrass and Sun. Each division will have its own identity, producing a division champion that will earn an automatic bid into the NAIA Football Championship Series.

When the new football arrangement takes place in 2017, teams will play each school within a division once and play four non-division games against other Mid-South Conference teams.

The Mid-South Conference’s new football divisions are:

Bluegrass Division: Bethel (Tenn.), Campbellsville (Ky.), Cincinnati Christian (Ohio), Cumberland (Tenn.), Georgetown (Ky.), Kentucky Christian, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.).

Appalachian Division: Bluefield (Va.), Cumberlands (Ky.), Point (Ga.), Pikeville (Ky.), Reinhardt (Ga.), St. Andrews (N.C.), Union (Ky.).

Sun Division: Ave Maria (Fla.), Edward Waters (Fla.), Faulkner (Ala.), Southeastern (Fla.), Warner (Fla.), Webber International (Fla.).




Filed under college football


  1. That’s a big conference!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s