New HampshireWith the July 4th Holiday hurtling toward us here is a look at the men from the New Hampshire delegation to the Continental Congress in 1776. These were the individuals who signed America’s Declaration of Independence.


###  1. Josiah Bartlett – This M.D. went on to serve as a military doctor for the American forces and was present at the Battle of Bennington, where General John Stark said “Live free or die”, which saying became the New Hampshire state motto.  

2. Matthew Thornton – Thornton also served as the first President of the Nation of New Hampshire.  

3. William Whipple – In January 1776, when New Hampshire became the first colony to officially break from England and become its own “nation”, Whipple helped organize the new government. 


Leave a comment

Filed under Neglected History, Revolutionary War

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s